Destination and Workforce Development | Tourism Saskatchewan

Destination and Workforce Development Division

The Destination and Workforce Development division is responsible for tourism education and training to address the challenges of a competitive labour market. The division assists destination areas, communities and operators in developing and co-ordinating tourism assets to enrich the quality of experiences, as well as supporting tourism planning and development activities to grow tourism in Saskatchewan. 

Carol Lumb Acting Executive Director, Destination and Workforce Development 306-933-5905 carol.lumb@tourismsask.com
Lesley Welter Executive Assistant 306-933-7188 lesley.welter@tourismsask.com

Departments within the Destination and Workforce Development division include:

 

 


Events

The Events department manages Tourism Saskatchewan's event sponsorship program and leads the ongoing development and implementation of Saskatchewan's event hosting strategy. The department promotes Saskatchewan's tourism sector through event sponsorships and by hosting corporate events such as Host Saskatchewan, the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence and Tourism Talks. These events provide industry members with networking and educational opportunities, and celebrate accomplishments of individuals and businesses in the tourism industry.

Field Representatives are the first point of contact for tourism operators and businesses. The department is responsible for co-ordinating a variety of marketing activities, administering co-operative marketing and training opportunities, meeting with communities and destination areas, attending consumer marketplaces and liaising with tourism operators. The team provides regular frontline communication to industry and assists with media visits and trade familiarization (FAM) tours to the respective areas. 

Spencer Roberton Funding Program Specialist 306-787-2302 spencer.roberton@tourismsask.com
Bob Kadis Sales Representative (Saskatoon Office) 306-399-5903  bob.kadis@tourismsask.com
Kevin Sawicki Field Representative (North Office) 306-519-1513  kevin.sawicki@tourismsask.com 

 

 

 


Industry Development

The Industry Development department is responsible for the initiation and support of tourism planning and development activities that expand tourism in the province. This work is undertaken in collaboration with tourism businesses, attractions and all levels of government, with the objectives of increasing visitor expenditures and developing the province as a more competitive, marketable and investment-ready destination.

Kwame Neba Director, Industry Development 306-933-5918 kwame.neba@tourismsask.com
Denise Stroeder* Industry Development Consultant 306-787-2825 denise.stroeder@tourismsask.com
Pratyush Das Industry Development Specialist 306-933-7538 pratyush.das@tourismsask.com
Tim Ouellette Industry Development Consultant 306-933-6111 tim.ouellette@tourismsask.com
Darcy Acton Industry Development Consultant 306-933-7493 darcy.acton@tourismsask.com
Corrina Kapeller** Regional Tourism Development Consultant 306-769-8850 corrina.kapeller@tourismsask.com 
*Regina office.
**East Central office location.
All other Industry Development staff are located in the Saskatoon office

Saskatchewan Tourism Education Council (STEC)

The Saskatchewan Tourism Education Council is responsible for the co-ordination of human resources development initiatives and the provision of education and training to support Saskatchewan's tourism sector. Its mandate addresses human resource management, employee recruitment and retention, post-secondary and technical training, awareness of tourism as a viable career choice and the development of a professional and more representative tourism workforce.

Carol Lumb Acting Executive Director, Destination and Workforce Development
306-933-5905 carol.lumb@tourismsask.com
Lesley Welter Executive Assistant 306-933-7188 lesley.welter@tourismsask.com
Carol Ingell Manager, Operations 306-933-7172 carol.ingell@tourismsask.com
Cindy Wright Project Coordinator 306-933-5928 cindy.wright@tourismsask.com
Darrell Noakes Communications and Marketing Specialist 306-933-5916 darrell.noakes@tourismsask.com
Diane Wilson Administrative Assistant 306-933-5900 diane.wilson@tourismsask.com
Brenda Robertson Workforce Development Consultant 306-933-7466  brenda.robertson@tourismsask.com
Kari Burgess Workforce Development Consultant 306-933-5913 kari.burgess@tourismsask.com
Lendee Wiebe Resource and Exam Centre Coordinator 306-933-5910 lendee.wiebe@tourismsask.com
Lynne Kennedy Workforce Development Consultant 306-933-7187 lynne.kennedy@tourismsask.com
Candy Fiddler Administrative Assistant 306-933-5908  candy.fiddler@tourismsask.com
All STEC staff are located at Saskatoon office.

 


To learn more about Tourism Saskatchewan's organizational structure, visit the directory main page or the following divisions: